I’m already here.

The night is yawning, putting itself to bed while the sun peeks over the horizon. I’m feeling restless.

Like the moon is pulling my heartstrings as it wanes.

Fear whispers in a soft rumble of distant thunder. Or maybe it’s just my heartbeat. I see no clouds.

I don’t want to give you my heart, and yet…

It’s already gone without a plot for reclamation.

I don’t know how to take back something I never intended to give.

It has a mind of its own, you know.

If I don’t see this through, I’ll regret it.

Your sleepy smile is my first cup of coffee: warming, awakening.

Go ahead, then. Break me. I’m waiting. Shatter me, like the glass I think I am, so that you can say, “I told you so.”

So that I can say, “I knew it all along.”

So that I can scatter my pieces on the wind, and leave to chase them.

Otherwise…

Otherwise, I just might stay.